Question Details
Seizures With Liver Failure
by
Dear Steve,
I have been treating a 6 yr yellow lab since 9/2008 for severe seizures. The dog was having 1-2 seizures, bad, per week on 6.5 mg/kg phenobarb BID and 300 mg zonisamide BID. The dog has improved greatly since then on a home cooked diet, with weight loss, and CHinese herbal medications. (it is on College Brain as my seizure case.)
The weird thing about this dog is it had seizures within 6 hours after either tonifying or draining AP, so has had no AP for 6 months.
Had to decease zonisamide 3 months ago as he developed signs of toxicity as he lost weight, and phenobarb dose decreases have maintained a constant mg/kg phenobarb dose. Serum phenobarb=34 (10-40).
I ran bloodwork on Dylan a couple weeks ago to check liver values as I have been slowly weaning him down to 5 mg/kg phenobarb, and discovered that his albumin is 1.7, chol, gluc, BUN are all low. So-Liver failure/Blood deficiency. Temporal muscle atrophy (Damp Heat, Yin deficiency, GB channel). Shen-quiet, slightly depressed (qi/Blood deficiency). T=dry, dark lavender with light pink edges. Bloid deficiency, Liver Qi stagnation Pulses rapid, wiry, decreased both Kidney positions.Kidney Yin/Yang/Qi/Jing deficient, stagnant, Heat RX currently=TNGTY with Jiang Can 10%, silymarin 250 mg BID, lactulose 5 ml q8hr, and Bao Hu Jiang Ju Tang 2 gm BID, Std Process Hepatic Support, egg whites in diet for albumin increased serum alb to 1.9.
I did not see much evidence of Phlegm on exam, T&P, but the only big change has been that I discontinued Di Tan Tang to give Bao Hu Jiang Ju Tang.
So-I have Liver Blood deficiency, Internal Wind-Phlegm, Yang rising. The seizures are severe-tonic-clonic type and getting worse with the current meds.
Can I use Ding Xian Wan, with Quan Xie and centipede, in a dog with a failing liver? Should I maybe use Tao Hong Si Wu Tang for Liver Blood?