Question Details
Melanoma In A Dog
by mwalker - September 24, 2014    View Case Report
I am hoping to get a little advice about herbs and any other therapies for a patient of mine. Fida is a 13 year old FS mixed breed dog (street dog from India). She had a litter of puppies at 1.5 years of age. She was spayed when she got pregnant again and they intentionally left an ovary. She had another surgery several years later that removed the remaining ovary after having a number of false pregnancies.

I have been treating her for a few years. She used to vomit bile around 4 am every morning and occasionally would vomit kibble in the evenings. She was started on a fresh food diet, wobenzyme, probiotics, l-glutamine, vit b12 injections and Nux vomica (Nux vomica seemed to help the most). She tends to start itching without the wobenzyme and will have a relapse in GI symptoms if the owners feed her kibble if they are traveling.

For the last couple of years she has periodic cervical pain that is usually worse in the morning and responds well to acupuncuture, massage, warmth, traumeel, bosswellia, and vit B12.

In April 2014 she had a 2.1 cm, low grade (2-3 mitotic figures/hpf) malignant melanoma surgically removed from her right axilla. Thoracic Rads showed beginning mineralization of the bronchi, mild left atrial dilation, chronic collapse of C6/C7 disk space, and spondylosis of T13/L1 and L1/L2.

She had an episode of muscle spasm (back legs kicking out) about 2 weeks after the surgery.

Her tongue and pulse have varied over the years, used to be more slippery, now has some fingerlift with a little increased tone. Tongue is lavender in the center and pink along the edges (side). She has started dreaming more and now has a grossly serosanguinous discharge from one of her nipples and a small benign keratinized growth on one of her pinnae.

Her owners had been reluctant to start herbs, but are more interested now.