Question Details
Barking In An Old Feeble Dog
by pindvm - April 9, 2021    View Case Report
Diesel is an 18y old mn, pitbull mix I have been treating for many years. He is a Fire Wood dog vocal and opinionated. He is currently driving his owners crazy barking. He has chronic left front lameness and hind end weakness, tremors in the head and hind legs, many SC masses (all checked have been fatty), cataracts ( almost blind) and is almost deaf. He sees a chiropractor regularly, which generally helps for a few days with limping. He loves his walks but limps more if he goes too far. He eats well and has normal stool now but did have diarrhea Dec/Jan after antibiotic for skin infection which took weeks to stop. Pumpkin was the most helpful. Two weeks ago was vomiting yellow in the morning (possibly new turmeric supply (he has been on turmeric for years) or an L-theanine supplement which I saw had xylitol in it - both stopped). He was on Qi Ju di Huang Wan until they ran out a week ago. He is currently on Shen Tong Fang (Body Sore), Rimadyl, Hemp glucosamine supplement, Hemp calming treats, CBD oil, a mixed mushroom supplement, melatonin, probiotics and Zen treats. He eats Origin Six fish. He use to love raw veggies but has been refusing lately. Tongue pale, paler at the tip. Pulse very weak on Right. I see Spleen and Kidney Qi/Yang deficiency, possible blood deficiency and Stagnation patterns. The barking may be a Shen disturbance but he has always been like this, it is just worse since he went blind and deaf. Considering Shen Ling Bai Zhu and either Xiao Chai Hu Jia Qin Jiao Tang or Supple Spine. I was thinking BHK because if Yang isn't integrating it could be disturbing Shen. The rest of his life he was Yin deficient so this is a new pattern.
Replies
by naturevet
April 10, 2021
Hi there,