Question Details
HSA Management
by landauvet - December 1, 2009
Hi Steve,

I have been managing an Aussie 11 MC for the last 4 1/2 months who had a ruptured splenic HSA. Surgery to remove the spleen was in July. After surgery, about 10 days later, the dog collapsed and was pale again. They saw another mass/hematoma where the spleen had been on ultrasound. The dog was given a horrible prognosis and has been largely asymptomatic ever since.
I acupunctured this dog initially to stop hemorrhage and supported him with DGSYS, BYHWT, Bilberry, Vit. A and D3 following your protocol.
When I rechecked him yesterday his pulse was deep and full, tongue swollen with a purple base and underside. Points did not jump out at me at all(deficiency).
He has developed a lot of warts and lipomas in the last few months. He has had occaisional evening pants which are unusual for him. He has lost a little weight and generally looks a bit older from all of the excitement of the last half year. Meanwhile, he goes on long romps and shows no exercise intolerance.
I am still seeing signs of stasis and blood and maybe yin deficiency. I was considering rolling in a little ZBDHW. Do you have any suggestions?
There is that little voice that says leave this alone, he is doing fine...and that other voice that wants to improve things a tad.

Kevin
Replies
by naturevet
December 1, 2009
Hi Kevin,

I just saw case this morning where I didn't do my usual protocol, but instead used Xiao Chai Hu Tang (with some Huang Qi added for hemostasis and immune enhancement). I chose the formula because of the benefit of GB 24 and 25 on the pulse. The dog had many traits just like your patient - acute collapse with exercise; purplish tongue; deep tight pulse; and heat symptoms and intolerances.