Question Details
PLE Herbal Selection
by Kiwivet - November 17, 2014    View Case Report
Hi Steve,
Lucee is a new patient to me. 10 y.o., F/S, Yorkie.
She was diagnosed with PLE 9/10/13. Vomiting and diarrhea; albumin 1.1, Glob 1.4; Pleural effusion, liver enlarged (ALT 55)
Her mother and brother both have PLE also. Current therapies at presentation Nov. 14, 2014; Prednisone 2.5 mg once a day (recently increased from EOD b/c albumin is decreasing from 3.0 at previous check), MCT oil, Hill's w/d dry. Nov 3, 2014: Alb 2.8, ALT 2.5,
Nov. 14: Liver very enlarged with sharp margins on xray otherwise naf, clinically no vomiting or diarrhea. Pet gets "roid-rage" on prednisone and so client really would prefer to minimize this drug.
BCS 5/9. Pulses - wiry (I'm not good at this part), T no coating.
So far, I have suggested she stop the w/d and rice that client has been giving. Temorarily change to 50:50 cooked ground turkey or chichen with canned pumpkin, MCT oil. digestive enzymes (RX Vitmamins; Gastriplex (Thorne), Probiotics (Mercola) and begin a series of B12 injections. Leave the pred alone for now. Will see how she does. Recheck bloodwork in two weeks.

I would like to incorporate Chinese Herbal Meds and would value any suggestions on balancing the diet.

What is best formula to start with? I was thinking San Ren Tang. I'm not sure what to make of her huge liver, with normal liver values.

How soon after starting the herb would you advise to begin to lower the prednisone?